2019 Honours and Awards announced


The President, Chairman and Council of the Air League are delighted to announce the recipients of major honours and awards to a number of individuals and organisations which have made an outstanding contribution to aviation and aerospace in the UK. The 2019 awards will be presented with the approval of the Patron, His Royal Highness The Duke of Edinburgh at the Honours and Awards Reception to be held at St James’s Palace on Thursday 30th May 2019.

The Honours and Awards Reception will also see a number of scholarships and bursaries presented to young people who display the potential to become future pilots, engineers and aerospace leaders in the United Kingdom.

The individuals and organisations which will be recognised in 2019 for their remarkable achievements are as follows:

The Founders Medal

The medal is awarded “For the most meritorious achievement in the whole field of British aviation or reaching its culmination during the calendar year under review.”

TheFounders Medal is awarded to No. 1 Group. Royal Air Force, Air Command recognising the retirement of the Tornado from the Royal Air Force after nearly 30 years of outstanding service, the embodiment of modifications on the Typhoon so the Tornado can be retired and successful introduction of the Lockheed Martin F35-B Lightning II.


The Gold Medal

The medal is awarded “For outstanding service to the causes of The Air League”. The Gold Medal is awarded to British Airways recognising its centenary year, being at the forefront of flight for 100 years and ongoing support of the Air League Trust.

The world’s first daily international scheduled flight between London and Paris was launched in August 1919 by forerunner company, Aircraft Transport and Travel Limited. Over the past 100 years British Airways and its predecessor airlines such as Imperial Airways, British European Airways and British Overseas Airline Corporation have shaped the face of the global civil aviation industry and for an entire century have remained at the forefront of flight.

In recent years British Airways has also been an instrumental supporter of the Air League Trust and to this day continues to engage with schools, universities and young people across the spectrum of science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) within the UK.  This year the Air League and British Airways are excited to announce their latest joint scheme, ‘Your Flying Future Experience Days’which will allow up to two hundred young people to take a trial flight in an aircraft or taster day at an airfield, many who have never had the opportunity to access aviation.


The Scott-Farnie Medal

The medal is awarded for achievement in the field of air education”.

TheScott Farnie Medal is awarded to Wing Commander Ian Revell RAFACrecognising his long and distinguished career as an adult volunteer with the RAF Air Cadets and his selfless commitment in leading a team of equally selfless adult volunteers over a prolonged period.


The Jeffrey Quill Medal

The medal is awarded “For an outstanding contribution to the development of air-mindedness in Britain’s youth”.

The Jeffery Quill Medal is awarded to both Wing Commander Grant Kearns RAFACand Wing Commander Mark Brayford RAFAC, for their selfless commitment to promoting air mindedness to the next generation within the Royal Air Force Air Cadets.


The Marshall of Cambridge Medal

The medal is awarded “For exceptional support of the Air League Trust by a recent scholarship winner.” The Marshall of Cambridge Medal is awarded to Flight Lieutenant Sean Link RAFVRT for his continued support of the Air League and work within the Leading Edge.


Framed Addresses

Saab UK

For their pioneering development of Digital Air Traffic Solutions and Remote Towers.

Mr Brian Jones OBE

Recognising his dedication to inspire others and encourage them to engage in aviation through ballooning.

Air Commodore Alistair Seymour

For his contribution to the delivery of all ranks flying training in the Royal Air Force.

Ms Carol Cooper

For her dedication to improving safety in General Aviation through training at

Andrewsfield Aviation.

Cranfield University

For ground-breaking initiatives in the aerospace research and technology ecosystem.


Honorary Life Vice-President

Group Captain Terrance Holloway

In recognition of his considerable work over a number of years in supporting the work of the Air League.

The Billy Deacon Search & Rescue Memorial Trophy

Mr Scott Sharman

For the recovery of two injured climbers off the North face of Ben Nevis.


The Evelyn Saunders Memorial Cup

Miss Annabelle Cleve

Related News and Events


Support the Air League and its vision of changing lives through aviation as an individual supporter.


Support the Air League and its vision of changing lives through aviation as an corporate supporter.