The 2019 Air League Honours and Awards Announced


Thursday 30th May 2019 at St James’ Palace, with the approval of the Patron, HRH the Prince Philip Duke of Edinburgh KG KT, was our Honours and Awards Reception.

A number of individuals and organisations which have made an outstanding contribution to aviation and aerospace in the UK were recognised for their remarkable achievements, with a series of awards presented.

This awards ceremony also saw a number of scholarships and bursaries presented to young people who display the potential to become future pilots, engineers and aerospace leaders in the UK.

Please click here for the Press Release

The Founders Medal

The medal is awarded: For the most meritorious achievement in the whole field of British aviation, reaching its culmination during the calendar year under review.

The Founders Medal is awarded to No. 1 Group. Royal Air Force, Air Command recognising the retirement of the Tornado from the Royal Air Force after nearly 30 years of outstanding service, the embodiment of modifications on the Typhoon so the Tornado can be retired and successful introduction of the Lockheed Martin F35-B Lightning II.

The Gold Medal

The medal is awarded: For outstanding service to the causes of The Air League.

The Gold Medal is awarded to British Airways recognising its centenary year, being at the forefront of flight for 100 years and ongoing support of the Air League Trust.

The Scott-Farnie Medal

The medal is awarded: For achievement in the field of air education.

The Scott Farnie Medal is awarded to Wing Commander Ian Revell RAFAC in recognition of distinguished career and long-term commitment as an adult volunteer with the RAF Air Cadets.

The Jeffrey Quill Medal

The medal is awarded: For an outstanding contribution to the development of air-mindedness in Britain’s youth.

The Jeffery Quill Medal is awarded to both Wing Commander Grant Kearns RAFAC and Wing Commander Mark Brayford RAFAC, for their selfless commitment to promoting air mindedness to the next generation within the Royal Air Force Air Cadets.

The Marshall of Cambridge Medal

The medal is awarded: For exceptional support of the Air League Trust by a recent scholarship winner.

The Marshall of Cambridge Medal is awarded to Flight Lieutenant Sean Link RAFVRT for his continued support of the Air League and work within the Leading Edge.

Framed Addresses

Saab UK

For their pioneering development of Digital Air Traffic Solutions and Remote Towers.

Mr Brian Jones OBE

Recognising his dedication to inspire others and encourage them to engage in aviation through ballooning.

Air Commodore Alistair Seymour

For his contribution to the delivery of all ranks flying training in the Royal Air Force.

Ms Carol Cooper

For her dedication to improving safety in General Aviation through training at Andrewsfield Aviation.

Cranfield University

For ground-breaking initiatives in the aerospace research and technology ecosystem.

Honorary Life Vice-President

Group Captain Terrance Holloway

In recognition of his considerable work over a number of years in supporting the work of the Air League.

The Billy Deacon Search & Rescue Memorial Trophy

Mr Scott Sharman

For the recovery of two injured climbers off the North face of Ben Nevis.

The Evelyn Saunders Memorial Cup

Miss Annabelle Cleve

The Evelyn Saunders Memorial Cup Ih is presented to a female pilot annually this year goes to Annabelle Cleve. Annabelle is currently with the York University Air Squadron, and is hoping to join the Royal Air Forced as a pilot.

Related News and Events


Support the Air League and its vision of changing lives through aviation as an individual supporter.


Support the Air League and its vision of changing lives through aviation as an corporate supporter.